Selected works by C. Debussy, F. Chopin and J. Brahms



Selected works from Preludes Book 1
Danseuses de Delphes, La sérénade interrompue, La cathédrale engloutie by Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, Op. 35 by Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op.25 by Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

About the Music

Inspired by Impressionist painters and Symbolist literature, Claude Debussy’s two books of preludes for solo piano are harmonically inventive and atmospheric, each of the 24 preludes vividly capturing a moment in time.

Unlike Debussy’s compositional style which departs from established rules of harmony, Polish-French composer Chopin was a master of Romantic music. His second piano sonata, composed between 1837 and 1839, is centered around Marche funèbre, a funeral march. Orchestral arrangements of Marche funèbre are often played at funerals, including at Chopin’s own.

Composed in 1861, Brahms Piano Quartet in G Minor culminates in a rousing Rondo alla Zingarese, “in the Gypsy style” in which Brahms utilizes strumming effects in imitation of the cimbalon, a traditional Gypsy instrument.

About the Musicians

Pianist, Ioannis Potamousis, described by the Pasatiempo as “New Colossus of the Keys”, is internationally acclaimed as a charismatic and passionate performer. He is known for his captivating artistry and introspective, poetic expression.

Ioannis will be joined in the second half by three accomplished young chamber musicians: violinist/violist Colin Laursen and cellist David Olson with whom he has previously performed, and violinist/violist Christine Wu, their esteemed colleague from undergraduate and graduate studies at Cleveland Institute and The Juilliard School.

Gallery: Saturday July 24th, 2022


Piano Quartet #1 in G minor op 25 IV Rondo alla Zingarese

Piano Quartet #1 in G minor op 25 III Andante con moto

Piano Quartet #1 in G minor op 25 II Intermezzo
(Allegro ma non troppo)

Piano Quartet #1 in G minor op 25 I Allegro